Regeneration work is currently focused on two Priority Regeneration Areas. These areas, and the projects within each, are:

  • Civic Quarter Master Plan
  • Kirkgate Master Plan
  • Merchant Gate
  • Wakefield Waterfront

Five Towns and South East

  • Castleford
  • Featherstone
  • Knottingley
  • Normanton
  • Pontefract
  • South Elmsall
  • South Kirkby Business Park

The Regeneration Service forms part of the Council's Economic Growth & Housing Service, along with the Economic Development and Strategic Housing Services. It focuses on the delivery of physical regeneration projects in the regeneration priority areas across the District in the context of the Council's Local Development Framework.

The service enhances and regenerate areas through:

  • Developing master plans and delivery plans for specific parts of the District, and co-ordinating regeneration activity
  • Working with and supporting landowners and developers to bring forward new development, sometimes as development partner
  • Acting as lead or client for a range of projects including environmental improvements
  • Buying strategic land and property for regeneration purposes
  • Looking for funding to support regeneration activity

Current Regeneration projects within the district ... 

  • Regeneration in the Five Towns and South East - Click here
  • Pontefract Townscape Heritage Initiative - Click Here
  • Regeneration in Wakefield City - Click here

Contact the Regeneration Team:
T:  01924 306630